Devaraj Arasu Scholarship

Key Information

Conducted By Backward Classes Welfare Department of Karnataka
Eligibility Candidates who have scored at least 90% in SSLC, II PUC, undergraduate and postgraduate programmes
Region Karnataka, India
Rewards Up to INR 25,000
Last Date of Application November 30, 2021

The Devaraj Arasu scholarship is offered to Karnataka students from the backward classes who want to pursue higher studies. The Backwards Classes Welfare Department, under the state government of Karnataka, provides the Devraj Arasu scholarship. The state government offers financial aid to students who have scored 90% or above in SSLS, PUC, undergraduate and postgraduate programmes under the Devaraj Arasu scholarship. 

The scholarship is also popularly known as the D Devaraj king Pratibha award. The Karnataka government launched it in the academic year 2016. The application for the Devaraj Arasu scholarship last date is November 30th, 2021. However, the application date is tentative and can change at the discretion of the provider. 

Table of Contents 

Eligibility Criteria of Devaraj Arasu Scholarship 

The state government provides the Devraj Arasu scholarship to the domiciles of Karnataka. The objective is to motivate deserving students to pursue higher education without any financial hurdles. The Devaraj Arasu scholarship eligibility criteria are as follows: 

  • The candidates should be permanent residents of Karnataka.
  • They should belong to the Backward Classes (BC) category as determined by the Karnataka government.
  • The students should be studying in a recognised government or private institution.
  • They should have scored a minimum of 90% marks in the SSLC (Class X), PUC (Class XII), bachelor's or master's programmes.
  • The family income should not exceed INR 2,50,000 per annum from all sources.

Devaraj Arasu Scholarship Rewards 

The state government offers up to INR 25,000 to outstanding students. However, the Devaraj Arasu scholarship amount will vary for different class levels. The students can read below the number of scholarships and the scholarship amount offered at each class level. 

The details of the Devaraj Arasu scholarship rewards are as follows: 

Class Level Scholarship Amount
SSLC INR 10,000
II PUC INR 15,000
Bachelor's degree (general) INR 20,000
Postgraduate degree (general) INR 20,000
Bachelor's degree in professional courses INR 25,000

 Note: The professional courses include medical and allied sciences, engineering and technology courses. 

Given in the table below are the number of scholarships available for each programme: 

Class Level Number of Scholarships Available
SSLC 1,000
II PUC 500
Bachelor's degree 500
Postgraduate degree 500
Bachelor's degree in professional courses 500

How to Apply for Devaraj Arasu Scholarship? 

Interested candidates can apply to the Devraj Arasu scholarship online through the official website. The first-time applicants should register themselves before commencing the Devaraj Arasu scholarship application procedure. The candidates should ensure they duly fill in the Devaraj Arasu scholarship application form and submit it within the last date to avoid rejections. Given below are the stepwise process to apply for the scholarship: 

Step 1: The candidates should visit the official Devaraj Arasu Scholarship website. 

Step 2: They should click on the Devaraj Arasu scholarship registration link to complete the registration process.

Step 3: After completing the Devaraj Arasu scholarship registration, the candidates should fill in the application form and upload the necessary documents.

Step 4: Next, they should cross verify the Devaraj Arasu scholarship application form and make changes if necessary.

Step 5: After cross-verifying the form and documents, the candidates should make the final submission. 

Essential Documents 

The candidates should scan the required Devaraj Arasu scholarship documents and upload them online at the time of application. They should ensure the documents contain accurate and authenticated details. Listed below are the essential Devaraj Arasu scholarship documents: 

  • Marksheets
  • Applicant's aadhaar card
  • Caste certificate
  • Disability certificate (if applicable)
  • Income certificate of the applicants' family
  • Mandate form
  • Bank details 

Devaraj Arasu Scholarship Selection Procedure 

The panel will select the candidates based on their academic merit. The candidates should have scored a minimum of 90% marks to be eligible for the rewards. The Devaraj Arasu scholarship selection procedure involves the authorities scrutinising the applications and verifying the documents. After the verification, they will release the final list of selected candidates. The names of the selected candidates and their application numbers will display on the Devaraj Arasu scholarship website. 

Devaraj Arasu Scholarship Contact Details 

In case of any queries regarding the Devaraj Arasu scholarship, the candidates can reach out to the Backward Classes Welfare Department under the Karnataka government. The Devaraj Arasu scholarship contact details are as follows: 

Contact Details
Phone Number 8050370006, 8050770004, 8050770005
Email ID [email protected]
Address Backward Classes Welfare Department, No.16D 3rd Floor Devaraja Arasu Bhavan Millers, Tank Bed Area, Vasantha Nagar, Bangalore -  560052


Add Your Question

Improve Your Question

Answer Now

Post By

Talk to Experts
Apply Now
Choose Your Discipline
Computer Application