JGEC - Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College Reviews on Placements, Faculty, Facilities & more

  • Jalpaiguri, West Bengal
  • 4.0

    Academics & Faculty

    3.8

    International Exposure

    3.9

    Fees and Scholarship

    4

    Placements & Internships

    3.5

    College Infrastructure

    3.9

    Hostels & Food

    4.2

    Clubs & Associations

    4.2

    Social Atmosphere

    4.7

    (30)
  • 2 Questions Answered
Updated On - Dec 14, 2021
Write a Review

JGEC - Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College Reviews

Overall Rating (Out of 5)

4.0

Based on 30 Verified Reviews

Distribution of Rating

>4-5 star

16

>3-4 star

9

>2-3 star

0

1-2 star

1

Component Rating (Out of 5)

Academics & Faculty

3.8

International Exposure

3.9

Fees and Scholarship

4

Placements & Internships

3.5

College Infrastructure

3.9

Hostels & Food

4.2

Clubs & Associations

4.2

Social Atmosphere

4.7

Souvik | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electronics & Communication Engineering), batch of 2019

Reviewed on Apr 23, 2018

  • 4.7
  • Fees and Scholarship 4.5
  • Clubs & Associations 5
Fees and Scholarship

As it's a govt. college, so the college fees are not so expensive.. The figure is affordable. For ECE, CSE students the fees are INR 7510/- , for CE, ME, EE students the fees are INR 5510/- and for IT students INR 12000/-. Those students who are suffering from financial problems get the facility of Full-Fee-Scholarship & Half-Fee-Scholarship.

Clubs & Associations

The technical fest organized in the campus is SRISTI and the cultural is JECLAT. SRISTI is continued for 4 days where there are many events like Bridge the Gap, Code Chronicles, Robo Soccer, Brain Treasure etc and gaming section like Counter Strike, NFS, FIFA etc. An online event also is held in SRISTI named SHERLOCKED based on solving technical puzzles. Every event carries an attractive prize money also. The cultural fest JECLAT to be held in our campus is the biggest cultural fest in North Bengal. It continues for 1 week. This fest has many interesting events, programmes like Malley, Treasure Hunt, Roadies, Quiz Compet

Anurag | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech], batch of 2019

Reviewed on Apr 04, 2018

  • 2.8
  • Placements & Internships 2.5
  • Fees and Scholarship 4
  • Academics & Faculty 2.5
  • College Infrastructure 2
  • Clubs & Associations 4.5
Placements & Internships

You can apply for FFS and HFS depending upon family income, must be less than 2.5L/p.a. As CSE background I have done 2nd year summer internship at IOCL Noida. Recently campusing is in downwards.

Fees and Scholarship

As per CSE, the fees are INR 68000 in 3 years and everything within 80K. Loans not needed. Apply for FFS or HFS.

Aditya | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech], batch of 2020

Reviewed on Feb 28, 2018

  • 3.3
  • Placements & Internships 2.5
  • Fees and Scholarship 5
  • Academics & Faculty 3.5
  • College Infrastructure 2.5
  • Clubs & Associations 4
Admission

Students need to pass WBJEE 2018 entrance exam. The student also needs to pass 12th degree. 

Placements & Internships

Several companies come for the placement here like TCS, CTS. Average package is INR 3.2 lakh per annum. Alumni network is good. Placement is average here. 

Samrat | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Information Technology), batch of 2021

Reviewed on Jan 12, 2018

  • 3.8
  • Placements & Internships 4
  • Fees and Scholarship 3.5
  • Academics & Faculty 3.5
  • College Infrastructure 3.5
  • Clubs & Associations 5
Admission

The candidate must clear the WBJEE exam and must have passed the 12th from a recognized institute. The cutoff rank must be below 17000.

Placements & Internships

I have done internships with IIM Bangalore. Many companies hire from our college like ROBERT BOSCH, SHAPOORJI, PALLOJI, L&T, TCS, CTS, IBM, CAPGEMINI, TECH MAHINDRA, PAHARPOOR COOLING TOWERS, WBSEDCL, VEDA IIT, KOTAK, MAHINDRA, AMAZON etc. The average salary is INR 3.5 lakhs per annum. Almost 80% of the students get placed.The highest salary offered was INR 12 lakhs per annum. The alumni network is good.

Pankaj | Bachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Accountancy), batch of 2016

Reviewed on Nov 27, 2017

  • 2.5
  • Placements & Internships 2
  • Fees and Scholarship 2
  • Academics & Faculty 2.5
  • College Infrastructure 4
  • Clubs & Associations 3.5
Placements & Internships

I haven’t done any internship yet.  I don’t know much about the companies taking part in the recruitment drive and salary offered by them. We have good alumni network.

Fees and Scholarship

Our course fee is INR 80,000 per annum. More scholarships are available for the students. In this batch, around 19 students avail the scholarship. The loan is not required.

Vishal | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Mechanical Engineering), batch of 2018

Reviewed on Oct 25, 2017

  • 3.3
  • Placements & Internships 3.5
  • Fees and Scholarship 2.5
  • Academics & Faculty 3.5
  • College Infrastructure 3
  • Clubs & Associations 3.5
Admission

Candidate must clear the JEE MAIN exam and must have passed the 12th from the recognized institute to get admission in this college.

Placements & Internships

Many reputed companies like TCS, Wipro etc hire our students with an average salary of INR 4 lakhs per annum and the highest salary offered by them is INR 10-12 lakhs per annum.

Priyam | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Information Technology), batch of 2016

Reviewed on Sep 26, 2017

Admission

First of all, you should give WBJEE entrance exam then through the e-counseling process you can take admission in JGEC. There is nothing about cut-off because every year it varies. But I think you should rank lesser than 5000 if you want to take admission.

Ritam | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech], batch of 2020

Reviewed on Sep 26, 2017

  • 5
  • Placements & Internships 5
Admission

You have to score a good rank in WBJEE to get a chance in this college. The cut-off will be given on the website usually, it is 2000 for mechanical and electrical and 4000 for civil, electronics, and IT.

Placements & Internships

The college provides good placements to the students. It has a very strong alumni network as the college has been established on 1961. Different companies come for placements in campus and the top IT companies of India hire the students from our college.

Hostel | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Computer Science and Engineering), batch of 2020

Reviewed on Sep 26, 2017

  • 3.5
  • Placements & Internships 3.5
Admission

Candidate must clear the WBJEE exam and must have passed the 12th from the recognized institute to get admission in this college. The cutoff rank must be below 4,000.

Placements & Internships

I haven’t done any internship yet. I don’t know much about the companies taking part in the recruitment drive and salary offered by them. We have good alumni network.

Priyabrata | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electronics & Communication Engineering), batch of 2020

Reviewed on Sep 25, 2017

  • 3.5
  • Placements & Internships 2.5
  • Fees and Scholarship 3.5
  • Academics & Faculty 4
  • College Infrastructure 4.5
  • Clubs & Associations 4.5
Admission

I got admission through WBJEE (West Bengal Joint Entrance Examination) rank. The cut-off rank for B.Tech in ECE was below 6000 and I ranked 5698.

Placements & Internships

Companies like TCS has done mass recruitment in previous years. Cognizant and IBM also recruit the students. The average annual salary range from INR 3 lakhs to 4 lakhs. Internships are also available through the campus. My College has a strong alumni network.

Explore Nearby Colleges View All

Loading...