NIT Rourkela Reviews on Placements, Faculty, Facilities & more

  • Rourkela, Odisha
  • 3.9

    Academics & Faculty

    4.1

    International Exposure

    3.7

    Fees and Scholarship

    3.9

    Clubs & Associations

    4.2

    Placements & Internships

    4

    College Infrastructure

    4.3

    Hostels & Food

    3.6

    Social Atmosphere

    4.1

    (60)
  • Public 3.9

    Academics & Faculty

    4.1

    International Exposure

    3.7

    Fees and Scholarship

    3.9

    Clubs & Associations

    4.2

    Placements & Internships

    4

    College Infrastructure

    4.3

    Hostels & Food

    3.6

    Social Atmosphere

    4.1

    (60)
  • Approved by AICTE
  • Write a Review
Updated On - Dec 14, 2021
Write a Review

NIT Rourkela Reviews

Overall Rating (Out of 5)

3.9

Based on 60 Verified Reviews

Distribution of Rating

>4-5 star

43

>3-4 star

15

>2-3 star

1

1-2 star

0

Component Rating (Out of 5)

Academics & Faculty

4.1

International Exposure

3.7

Fees and Scholarship

3.9

Clubs & Associations

4.2

Placements & Internships

4

College Infrastructure

4.3

Hostels & Food

3.6

Social Atmosphere

4.1

Purnima | B. Tech, batch of 2021

Reviewed on Nov 23, 2020

  • 4.4
  • Placements & Internships 5
  • Fees and Scholarship 5
  • Academics & Faculty 3.5
Admission

People need to take JEE Main exam to enter into NIT's. It is the second toughest exam in my country. The cut-off for NIT colleges is 95 percentile and above.

Placements & Internships

The highest salary package is 126 lakhs per annum. I cannot write more about it because I'm only in my first year.

Himanshu | Btech Food Process engineering , batch of 2021

Reviewed on Jul 06, 2019

  • 3.5
  • Placements & Internships 3
  • Academics & Faculty 3.5
  • College Infrastructure 4
  • Clubs & Associations 4.5
Admission

The eligibility criteria is that you will have to clear JEE MAINS. Candidates can get admission in this college through JEE Mains.

Placements & Internships

Many companies come to our college. Several PSUs like Bharat Petroleum, TATA steel. Microsoft, L&T, Adobe, Reliance Jio, Exxon Mobile, TATA motors, Vedanta come to higher graduates. The average salary is 6 LPA. Highest has been 40 LPA in Adobe. The Alumni network is very strong of NIT ROURKELA.

Anubrata | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Aerospace Engineering), batch of 2019

Reviewed on Jun 14, 2019

Admission

I have this year completed 12th. I have got 90.99percentile in JEE Main paper2 and 74.41percentile in jee main paper 1.

Jai | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Metallurgical Engineering), batch of 2017

Reviewed on Aug 04, 2021

  • 4
  • Placements & Internships 4
  • Fees and Scholarship 4
  • Academics & Faculty 4
  • College Infrastructure 4
  • Clubs & Associations 4
Placements & Internships

NIT Rourkela has a best alumni network. Recently NIT Rourkela has celebrated its golden jubilee function in the metallurgical department. It has invited its students(from metallurgical department) from older batches and ran successfully. Regarding placements, NIT Rourkela has decent placement statistics. The highest salary can be range from 14 to 15 lpa with avg salary of 5lpa in our department.

Fees and Scholarship

If the parents income is less than 1lpa, then the tuition fee will be waived off and rest fee dues like hostel, mess and medical fee will be required to pay. Per semester approximately 30 to 33 thousand fee can be asked to pay for students with income below 1lpa. For students with parents income between 1 and 5lpa, 70 percent of the tuition fee will be waived off. Fir ST and SC's tuition fee will be waived off completely without regarding parents income. Regarding scholarships, NIT Rourkela has provided better scholarship schemes but only minority category students are eligib

Mayam | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech], batch of 2018

Reviewed on May 10, 2019

  • 5
  • Placements & Internships 5
Admission

The eligibility criteria were to qualify JEE Mains entrance examination above a particular cut-off. The cut-off is mostly based on many criteria. The criteria vary from caste, branch you are applying for and also if you are in the same state that the college is from. The cut-off for core branches is mostly between 1,000 to 5,000 AIR for General category. The cut-off for most other branches was below 40,000 AIR. 

Placements & Internships

I had done my internship in two places. Milk Mantra and OMFED, and the stipend offered for Milk Mantra was 10,000 P.M. and there was none for OMFED. Key companies visiting are mostly analytics, manufacturing, FMCG, sales and marketing, IT. The average salary offered is between 6 to 7 LPA. The highest package offered was by Amazon which was 26 LPA. Mostly about 90% of the whole batch gets placed.

Deepak | Master of Science [M.Sc] (Chemistry), batch of 2018

Reviewed on May 09, 2019

Admission

you should be a graduate from the respective course like chemistry, mathematics, and physics etc. You have to qualify the JAM exam with good rank. The cutoff of the JAM 2018 was 23.

Kalyanharshavardhan | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech], batch of 2018

Reviewed on Apr 06, 2018

  • 3.8
  • Placements & Internships 3.5
  • Fees and Scholarship 3.5
  • Academics & Faculty 4
  • College Infrastructure 4.5
Admission

Eligibility is u have to complete +2 (intermediate) in MPC group. JEE mains is the entrance exam that you have to take to get admission in our college. Jee mains is of 360 marks. The Cutoff is around 120 marks. And varies depending on the category.

Placements & Internships

A few companies visit our college for internships like Goldman Sachs, Microsoft etc. Placements are good but packages are low. Average package is INR 4lakhs per annum. The highest package is 24 lakhs per annum given by Amazon only one in the whole campus gets that kind of package. Alumni meetings are held on campus every year.

Krushnendu sundar | Master of Technology [M.Tech] (VLSI Design & Embedded System), batch of 2019

Reviewed on Apr 19, 2018

  • 4.3
  • Placements & Internships 4
  • Fees and Scholarship 3.5
  • Academics & Faculty 4.5
  • College Infrastructure 5
  • Clubs & Associations 4.5
Admission

*Eligibility criteria for getting admission for M.tech in VLSI and embedded systems design is 60% in B.tech ( ECE/EEE/IN). * Admission procedure mainly through CCMT( central counseling for M.Tech admission). Student will be shortlisted through gate score * Cutoff will be changing year to year. So students having gate score more than 500 will get admission into this specialization.

Placements & Internships

* Gate qualified candidate will get 12,400/- stipend per month. Internship mainly depends upon your project guide if you are able to convince him/her then you can go for an internship. *Mainly IT, manufacturing, core electronic companies do hire students from B.tech but especially for Mtech in ECE, EE, IN, CS they do hire. It also depends upon on the student. *Average salary will be 3-6 lpa, and highest was 18lpa. * Yes, we do have strong alumni network.

Saireddy | B Tech, batch of 2021

Reviewed on Mar 14, 2018

Admission

I got my seat here by writing jee main entrance examination. Eligibility criteria is 12th class.

Prakash | Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech], batch of 2020

Reviewed on Mar 14, 2018

Admission

You have to score a good All India rank in JEE EXAMINATION like between 10k to get a seat in a good branch like EC CS ME etc.

Explore Nearby Colleges View All

Loading...