History of India

Knowing the history of your country is of vital importance. You would have been taught about it in school, written various exams. But that is not where it ends, history is needed everywhere, be it for competitive exams such as CAT or government exams such as IBPS PO, SBI PO or for job interviews.

India gained independence in the year 1947. Up until then, India was ruled by the British. A popular myth surrounding the rule of British in India is that they ruled over India for 200 years when in reality they took about 100 years to conquer India and ruled India for 100 years. Their rule ended on August 15th 1947, India has since been an independent country. We have made our own constitution and we enjoy unlimited democracy.

President of India

The President of India, also known as the First Citizen of India is the head of the state and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed forces. The position of President of India is mainly a ceremonial one, the executive powers are majorly exercised by the Prime Minister of India.

Since Independence, India has had 14 Presidents. All elected by the Electoral College. India also has had 14 Prime Ministers. According to the Indian Constituency, a president can hold the office for a term of 5 years and s/he can stand for 2 terms.

President of India List from 1947 to 2018

  • Rajendra Prasad – 26th January 1950 to 12th May 1962

  • Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan – 13th May 1962 to 13th May 1967

  • Zakir Husain – 13th May 1967 to 3rd May 1969

  • Varahagiri Venkata Giri – 3rd May 1969 to 20th July 1969

  • Mohammad Hidayatullah – 20th July 1969 to 24th August 1969

  • Varahagiri Venkata Giri - 24th August 1969 to 24th August 1974

  • Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed – 24th August 1974 to 11th February 1977

  • Basappa Danappa Jatti – 11th February 1977 to 25th July 1977

  • Neelam Sanjiva Reddy – 25th July 1977 to 25th July 1982

  • Zail Singh – 25th July 1982 to 25th July 1987

  • Ramaswamy Venkataraman – 25th July 1987 to 25th July 1992

  • Shankar Dayal Sharma – 25th July 1992 to 25th July 1997

  • Kocheril Raman Narayanan – 25th July 1997 to 25th July 2002

  • Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam – 25th July 2002 to 25th July 2007

  • Pratibha Patil – 25th July 2007 to 25th July 2012

  • Pranab Mukherjee – 25th July 2012 to 25th July 2017

  • Ram Nath Kovind – 25th July 2017 (Incumbent)

Interesting Facts about Presidents of India

  • Fact #1 – The 1st President of India, Rajendra Prasad is the only President in the history to hold the office for 2 complete terms.

  • Fact #2 – Out of 14 presidents, 2 presidents have died in office, Zakir Husain and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

  • Fact #3- Zakir Husain was the 1st Muslim president

  • Fact #4 – Only 4 Presidents have won the Bharat Ratna. Namely, S Radhakrishnan, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Husain and APJ Abdul Kalam.

  • Fact #5 – The 12th President of India, Pratibha Patil is the 1st and only women president till date.

Leave a comment