Pondicherry University, Puducherry

Read Student Reviews of Pondicherry University, Puducherry

Soumya M.Sc (Others), batch of 2018
26 May 2017 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • The main festival at Pondicherry University is aneksragam our yearly festival.
  • Life in college is generally good.
College Infrastructure:
  • Two hostels are there, one for boys and the other for girls at Pondicherry University.
  • Hostel fees are free for girls, whereas boys have to pay 1000 rupees per year.
  • Food in college is average and cost is 2500 pet month.
  • The Quality of classrooms and other facilities are average.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Classes are from 9 am to 4.30pm at Pondicherry University.
  • Exams are conducted monthly along with assignments and seminars.
  • Quality and method of teaching are good.
  • Overall experience is good.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Per year fee varies but approx fees come about 50 k at Pondicherry University.
  • All the students doing Msc.
  • Marine biology is entitled to a stipend of 1000 rupees.
Placements & Internships:
  • No internships so far at Pondicherry University.
  • Most of the alumni are doing a doctorate, some are also doing projects in various institutions.
Admissions:
  • Eligibility criteria for our course at Pondicherry University were 55 percent in graduation with biology as subject such as microbiology, zoology, botany, biochemistry, physiology, molecular biology etc.
  • The admission procedure was online entrance examination.
  • I took Pondicherry University marine biology entrance examination.
  • Cut-offs was not known to me exactly but it was above 50 for general category students supposedly.
Rajdeep M.Sc (Geology), batch of 2018
21 Apr 2017
Admissions:
  • Eligibility criteria for B Sc in Geology, Admission procedure_ based on entrance. Pondicherry entrance examination is required to get into Pondicherry University.
Gouripada M.Sc (Others), batch of 2017
14 Mar 2017 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • There are some good clubs like astronomy club and photographic club present in Pondicherry University, Puducherry.
  • Various cultural festivals with science day celebrations and tech fest are organised each year. 
  • In general, the life at Pondicherry University, Puducherry is exciting.
College Infrastructure:
  • About 20 boys and girls hostels are present in Pondicherry University, Puducherry. Fee for hostel is free for girls and 900 rupees per annum for boys.
  • PG is not available but rent option is there which is around Rs 3000 per month excluding food.
  • Food quality in hostel mess is horrible which costs INR 60 per day which includes breakfast, lunch and dinner.
  • The Classrooms are good and there is WiFi facility provided throughout the campus. Two libraries with thousands of books are available.
Academics & Faculty:
  • The Daily Routine at Pondicherry University, Puducherry starts with the class timings from 9:30 in the morning to 5:30 in the evening.
  • Internal exams are being conducted once a week.
  • The Quality and Method of teaching are more than average with experienced faculty members.
  • The overall experience at PU is good.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The course fee for my course at Pondicherry University, Puducherry is Rs 18,000 in the first year and Rs 2,000 in the second year.
  • CSIR UGC and INSPIRE Fellowship are the scholarships which are widely availed along with the university scholarships on merit basis.
  • The top 30 percent of the students in the class get the scholarship.
  • Loans are not needed as the fees are quite low. 
Placements & Internships:
  • No, I haven't done any internships from Pondicherry University, Puducherry but students are getting in good companies.
  • The Key Companies that come into PU for hiring individuals are TIMES, Amazon and most IT, Finance and Marketing companies.
  • The Average salary for an individual is around 4.5 lac per annum.
  • A well established notable Alumni list is provided on the website.   
Admissions:
  • The Candidate must have finished his/her BSc from any recognised university to get admitted to Pondicherry University, Puducherry.
  • I took the MSc Physics entrance to get admitted to this college.
  • The typical cut-off for this course is about 150.
Abdullah nanoscience and technology, batch of 2016
27 Jan 2017
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria for joining Pondicherry University is clearing the required entrance exam.
Sumit M.A. (Philosophy), batch of 2015
21 Jan 2017 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • There are around 10 communities in Pondicherry University.
  • The main festivals are Onam, Pongal, Maha Shivaratri etc.
  • Life is average in university.
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 10-12 hostels in Pondicherry University including both boys and girls and the university takes Rs. 7,000 per semester as hostel fee.
  • There is no PG available near the campus.
  • The food is very bad. The college takes Rs. 20 for a meal.
  • The quality of classrooms, labs, libraries, dinning halls and Wi-Fi connections are very poor.
Academics & Faculty:
  • My classes start from 9 am in the morning and depending on the number of classes it takes time.
  • Quality and method of teaching is good at Pondicherry University.
  • Overall experience in college is good. 
Fees and Scholarship:
  • My course fee at Pondicherry University is Rs. 1,000 per semester.
  • There is only one scholarship option for the student.
  • An average number of students who are getting a scholarship is 2.
  • I don't have any idea about the loan.
Placements & Internships:
  • Still, there is no internship program for me at Pondicherry University.
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria for joining Pondicherry University was based on my performance in the PGCET entrance test conducted by Pondicherry university and also based on my career performance.
  • I don't know the cut-off for the course.
AKASH KUMAR M.Sc (Physics), batch of 2017
18 Jan 2017 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • The only student council is present in Pondicherry University, there is no association available.
  • The college celebrates Hostel day, Convocation, Sports and other festivals like Ganesh Puja, Onam, Pongal etc.
  • Life in University is very good.
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 21 hostels present in Pondicherry University.
  • The hostel fee is Rs. 4,000 per month.
  • Food is good and cost Rs. 20 per meal.
  • The quality of all the facilities is good.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Class timings at Pondicherry University are from 9:30 am to 17:30 pm including class, project hours etc.
  • The quality and method of teaching are excellent.
  • Overall experience in University is very good.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fee at Pondicherry University per year is Rs. 18,000/-.
  • Scholarships are available to the topper of the branch.
  • 2 students can get the scholarship.
  • No the loan is not required.
Placements & Internships:
  • I have done a summer internship on 'Wave Propagation through Optical Fibers' at Pondicherry University and I have attained a 'Winter School on Photonics' at IISER Kolkata.
  • Many companies visit the campus for placements.
  • The average salary is Rs. 2,40,000/- and Highest salary is Rs. 3,00,000/- and 25% of student get placed every year.
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria for joining Pondicherry University is clearing the CETPPMC exam.
  • The typical cut-off for the course is 30%
Anshu Biotechnology, batch of 2015
16 Jan 2017
Admissions:
  • My eligibility criteria for joining Pondicherry University for M.Sc biotechnology was graduation in biotechnology and clearing the JNUEEE exam.
  • On the basis of rank in this examination and your preference, you will get admission in the college.
Karthikgkarthik2010 MBA/PGDM, batch of 2018
21 Dec 2016
Admissions:

1.Actually, My MBA Banking Technology Course is a different combination of banking and It Sector. To my surprise, those who did their Under Graduate In Engineering or in any of the computer related courses were allowed for eligibility in Pondicherry University, Puducherry.

2.It is an entrance exam conducted by Pondicherry University.

3. The cut-off Was around 120 for 200 AIR.

Rishita M.Sc (Others), batch of 2016
20 Dec 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • This mixed culture at Pondicherry university improves one maturity.
  • Freshers event, Region festivals are the main fest in the college.
College Infrastructure:
  • Pondicherry university has 20 hostels including boys and girls.
  • Hostel fee is free for girls but mess fee is about Rs. 24,000 per year.
  • Outside PG 's are expensive I think.
  • Mess food was good but regular menu keeps boring.
  • Facilities in the campus were good.
  • WiFi range is high in some areas, some places it doesn't.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Academic wise I can strongly say, This is one of best college.
  • But as per my course, it is more expensive in Pondicherry university.
  • Some faculty was extremely good at teaching.
  • Overall experience is good.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fee in Pondicherry university is Rs. 24,000 per year.
  • Only OBC scholarship is available.
  • I don't know about loans.
Placements & Internships:
  • I have done my internship in regional news channel as part of UG.
  • There are other courses like MBA where people get good campus placements but not like Electronic media at Pondicherry university.
Admissions:
  • I took CETPPMC Pondicherry university entrance exam test, I got 14th rank in all over.
  • So I got admission there directly, without second options.
Digambar M.Sc (Geology), batch of 2018
10 Sep 2016 Rating :
Placements & Internships:
  • Many companies comes for the placements.
Admissions:
  • The selection of candidates for admission to the P.G./M.Phil./Ph.D. programmes will be based on the marks obtained in the entrance examination only. The entrance examination will be of 2 hours duration. Mere appearance in the entrance examination does not entitle a candidate for admission to any course in this University and he/ she will be granted admission only if he/ she fulfils the eligibility criteria fixed for the courses. Even if a candidate is placed in the admission list based on his/ her performance in the entrance test but does not meet the eligibility criteria,he/ she will not be granted admission. Candidates are advised to take up the examination only if they satisfy the eligibility criteria. If the number of applications received is less than the prescribed intake, there will be no entrance test; admission will be granted based on the marks obtained in the qualifying examination.
  • Specific Entrance Exam conducted by the University
Adela MBA/PGDM, batch of 2017
15 Nov 2015 Rating :
Academics & Faculty:
  • The class timing is from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm at Pondicherry University
  • The quality and method of teaching are good
Oindabi M.Sc (Physics), batch of 2016
28 Feb 2015 Rating :
Social Atmosphere:

crowd is good with friendly attitude but there is no discrimination on the basis of colour,gender and religion.alcohol is banned in the campus.there is bar or pub nearby.

Societies & Associations:

there are many clubs which participate in the fest and perform in cultural and technical fests.

Hostels & Food:

hostel and mess is there in campus with canteens which provide different types of foods at economy rates which is hygeine and eatable.

College Infrastructure:

Libraries,Internet,Communication Lab,Audio-Visual Facilities,Conference,Lecture Hall & Tutorial Rooms,Hygienic Canteen etc.College infrastructure is good and fully equipped with every facilities which a student require

Placements & Internships:

There are many companies who visits the campus for selection of students in various feilds like marketing sales,finance,it,core etc companies like ibm,infosys,wipro are regular recuiters.

Fees and Scholarship:

Fees is average and scholarships are provided as per government norms and scholarships are provided to many stdents based on merit,casts,and also state government.bank loans are provided to the college.

International Exposure:

till now international exposure is not dere.college is trying to make tie ups with the foreign universities for foreign exchange programs.

Academics & Faculty:

Classes are regular at 9.30 am. assignments and project are given on regular interval and it carries weigtage in the semester exams.exams are held monthly and semester exams are held once in a semester.Here are faculties are quite experienced and skillful.quality of teaching is very simple and gettable, theoretical and practically mode is used.