National Institute of Technology, [NIT] Calicut

Read Student Reviews of National Institute of Technology, [NIT] Calicut

Jim B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
06 Apr 2017
Admissions:
  • AIEEE Ranks are the main priority in filtering candidates ..+2 marks were also considered as an admission requisite.
  • As mentioned earlier, I attempted AIEEE for the year 2011, secured AIR of 3666, provincial rank of 93.
  • Depending on the reservation categorization, like for instance, handicapped, SC, ST at National Institute of Technology.

 

 

Tej Electronic Design and technology, batch of 2017
17 Dec 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • Everything is very fine at NIT Calicut. 
  • There are student societies like robotics interested group, team unwind, etc, but only few.
  • There are two fests, one is technical and other is cultural fest (where we have some band for outside).
College Infrastructure:
  • The hostel facility is good it will be little far from college (for Mtech hostel)and the mess fee will be Rs 3200/- per month and there will be 5 to 6 mess you can chance every month based on your choice of food, I don't think too much good, but it is not bad.
  • You do not have to go for PG outside the college because college provides good mess and accommodation.
  • Everywhere you have internet facility.
  • The quality of the classrooms is good.
Academics & Faculty:
  • In the 1st and 2nd semesters, it's a very tight schedule but if you are very interested then its fine, then you can manage.
  • The quality and method of teaching are good.
  • The overall experience in the college is very good experience.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Every NIT has a different course fee structure. In NITC, it is different for different categories. For OC and OBC it is 40,000/- per sem.For SC and ST, it differs for every sem. For 4 semesters, the total would be around 22,000/-(12000+3000+5000+2000)
  • You can avail bank loan if required. All you need is, your parent's income certrtificate, land details and some supporting doccuments about which you can get the details from the bank.
Placements & Internships:
  • There is chance of getting internships if you score good in 1st and 2nd semesters i,e cgpa 7.0 or above. The candidate might get a stipend of around Rs 12,400/- per month.
  • Campus placements mostly includes IT and Sofrware companies. Some of them offer good package of about 8 l.p.a. or above. The highest package offered till date is around 34 l.p.a.
  • The alumini network is average and can be used for internships.
Admissions:
  • My course is EDT(Electronic Design and Technology) in M.Tech in NIT Calicut. The Eligibility criteria for a candidate interested in pursuing M.Tech in NIT, Calicut is a B.Tech degree and a good GATE score out of 1000.
  • The cutoff is different for every category. I joined in the year 2015 and at that time cutoff for different categories were as follows- OC-663,OBC-522,SC-386,ST-316 (all the scores that I have mentioned above is the minimum score for that category and it may vary).

 

 

JISHNU K B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2018
26 Oct 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • Many student associations like IEEE,RIG(Robotics Interest Group), ISTE(Indian Society for Technical Education), dance club, debate club, and other.
College Infrastructure:
  • We have the center library and digital library for those excellent minds seeking knowledge and the quality of both these libraries is unmatched. Our institute is entirely synchronized with internet and wifi.
  • the hostel department is good and there are many newly building mega hostels for boys and girls. 
Academics & Faculty:
  • The daily routine usually starts at 8a.m and ends at 5 p.m. For each semester, there is two tests and one end semester examination. You can obtain internal marks through assignments, tutorial test, and projects. Institute offers the opportunities of mini and major projects which can submit in the last four semesters.
  • There are several seminars to prove our skills and communication abilities.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The course fee will be around Rs..40,000 rupees per year and DASA students have some additional.
  • There are several scholarships available for students like E-Grantz, scholarship for physically challenged, scholarship for bright students and there are some voluntary organizations outside the campus or from other institutions like IIT's giving scholarships for brilliant and eligible students.  
Placements & Internships:
  • Our institution has a dedicated center for Placement and internship and there are many companies like Oracle, L&T, Dell, Tesco, Mediatek, etc recruiting students from this institute.
  • There are 10 academic departments in BTech program and most of the students from these departments are getting their future secured.Average salary figures around 20-50 lakhs per year. The institute has well defined Alumni network
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria are really based on entrance examination in JEE
  • Atleast 50%-70% should be scored in an entrance and there are relaxations for SC/ST and OBC students of minimum 40% marks.
  • The entrance examination mark list, Higher Secondary/CBSE certificates can be submitted there at the time of admission. Physical, income and community certificates can also be submitted. 
Prudhvi BTech Biotechnology , batch of 2012
25 Oct 2016 Rating :
Placements & Internships:
  • The companies like TCS, GM, Google, etc come to National Institute of Technology, [NIT] Calicut for placements. 
  • The average salary is good. It is around Rs 5,00,000 to Rs 7,00,000 per annum.
  • Almost all the students get placed.
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria in National Institute of Technology, [NIT] Calicut was to finish your 12th-grade.The main courses studied in 12th-grade should be MPC(Maths,Physics,Chemistry).
Krishna B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2017
21 Oct 2016 Rating :
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Rs.40,000-course fees
  • only reservation scholarships
  • yes they are availed from SBI 
Placements & Internships:
  • Key companies like Wipro,c dot, .net, and wine, these people came for senior software engineering
  • 19 CTC is highest., Avg is 6  CTC
  • They are now well settled
Admissions:
  • Admission procedure  was through JEE Main marks. eligibility criteria were +2 should be qualified.
  • For my course it's 11000, all India rank was the cutoff for general it was less than 5000
Prudhvi Raj B tech , batch of 2016
20 Oct 2016 Rating :
Placements & Internships:
  • After Getting into National Institute of Technology, [NIT] Calicut, It depends interest whether to do internship or not..If particular student is interested he can do in India or even out of India. I didn't do any internship.
  • I didn't do any internship.
  • Key companies were TCS,QBURST,GM and ETC.
  • The average salary was around Rs.5 to 6 lakh per Annum,highest was 28 lakh so far.
Admissions:
  • Eligibility criteria were to pass 12th standard in any type of mediums (SSC ,CBSE OR ICSE courses)
  • For  engineering, the candidate should be having main courses in 12 the would be MPC(maths ,physics, and chemistry).
  • After 12th , The Candidate has to apply for AIEEE (All India engineering entrance exam).
  • From which I got in nit Calicut.Cut off will be based on the year of exam , college and Course desired. 
  • For example core branches like mechanical engineering,computer engineering and etc will be more due to high competition.
Arun B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2018
19 Oct 2016
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria are to have a good score in Joint Entrance Examination (JEE MAIN) and based on All India Rank.
  • The Entrance Examinations that I took was JEE MAIN and KEAM(Kerala Engineering Entrance Examination)
  • The typical cutoff is to have 220+/360 in JEE MAIN.
Jayakrishnan B.Tech, batch of 2016
04 Oct 2016 Rating :
Academics & Faculty:
  • The daily routines will be changed completely when you move home to hostels in NIT, Calicut.
  • Class timings will be the drastic difference from your school life where you need to listen to lectures straight for about 7 hours.
  • At our college, they follow slot system for lectures.
  • So, everyday you will have about 4 lectures + maximum of 2 labs (weekly one class/week).
  • 8am to 12:15pm will be the morning 4 slots. More than the classes, they encourage self-development which is essential further in life.
  • The facilities are the best among Kerala Engineering colleges.
  • In every semester there will be 3 exams for a subject, 2 quarterly 20 mark tests and a 50 mark end semester exam. 10 marks for assignment. So totally out of 100 you need to get 40 percent to pass a subject failing which you will have to repeat that subject in future semesters.
  • There are interesting lectures as well as boring ones. Every one should have 80 percent attendance for all subjects to write the final exam. They follow a continuous grading system evaluating your performance throughout the semester.
  • Hostels are not strict.
  • My overall experience in the college was really good and one worth a memory in my life.
Anjaly M.Sc(Tech), batch of 2013
03 Oct 2016
Admissions:

Eligibility criteria is getting above 70% in the respective subjects.

Exam was conducted by the university.

 

Societies & Associations:
  • Student societies, clubs and associations in campus are very nice. 
  • Main festivals in campus is technical and cultural fest.
  • In general, college life is extraordinary.
College Infrastructure:
  • Hostel facility is there for bith girls and boys. 
  • Quality of labs, classooms and library is outstanding. 
  • Wifi available in hostel.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Daily routine was manageable even though we used to have classes late night.
  • Quality and method of teaching is commendable.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fees is higher as compared to other colleges.
  • Scholarships are also provided to eligible students.
Placements & Internships:
  • We got oppurtunity to do internship in Engineering and science institutes.
  • Placements are not that good.
  • Alumni network is very nice.
Aryan B.Arch., batch of 2017
12 Sep 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • Different clubs like cultural, mathematical, unwired , debating club etc are available in colleges.
  • Cultural fest is RAGAM with is very famous in all india while technical fest name TATHVA give opportunities to all the students to show the talents in the competitive stage
  • On average course life in campus is too awesome, full of fun, enjoyment and yes lots to technical exposure too.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Class last from 8 mornings to 6 evening. each class is for 40 minutes. since my course is b.arch so there are lots of design assignment and projects and strict deadlines
  • Quality and teaching method is too great in my colleges as all the teachers are well qualified and enthusiastic 
  • Overall I can say my college is too good or the architecture field. it also ranks 6th in all India architecture colleges
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Per year fee is Rs 40,000
  • There is no scholarship for the general candidates however sc/st scholarships are there organized by the central government
  • Almost around 25 out fo 40 students get scholarship
  • No loan is not needed as per semester fee cost only Rs 20,000
Placements & Internships:
  • Currently , I am doing the internship in firm name ARCHADE FOUNDATION without any stipend
  • Usually, L&T comes for selection on my campus but it is having better scope outside the campus
  • Average salary lies between Rs 25-30,000 per month as this field need experience. once anyone gets high experience salary figure will rise automatically. highest salary - Rs 80,000 per month and around 20% get campus placement rest all get that outside and go for masters.
  • Alumni network of our campus is very good. most of the students gain experience from the firm organized or acquired by the seniors
Admissions:
  • One who has done senior secondary taking physics,chemistry and mathematics are eligible for pursuing B.ARCH.
  • I gave AIEEE entrance exam to enter in NIT Calicut but now only a single exam JEE PRE and MAINS are there for selection in NITs and IITs
  • Usually, if anyone has more than 250 marks in Mains and more than 90% in Board Exams then he or she will get top colleges
Sreedhar B.Tech (Civil), batch of 2019
24 May 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:
  • There are many hostels in the college.
  • They charge very high even though it is government institution.
  • Only the hostel fee is approximately Rs. 900 per month.
  • The mess charges are separate, it is around Rs. 2,500.
  • The quality of food is not good.
  • The Wifi provided here is good.
Placements & Internships:
  • I didn't get any internship opportunity.
  • The placement percentage is below 50.
  • For civil engineering the opportunities are less at campus level.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The annual college fees is Rs. 35,000.
  • Scholarships are less in this institution.
  • Only few get students get scholarships who are meritorious.
  • Other people get some private scholarships which they have to pay double the amount they get.
  • Due to high fee a student compulsorily needs an education loan and they are available easily at the beginning of the academic year.
  • Banks like State Bank Of India and PNB are the only ones available for educational loans.
B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2019
23 Apr 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:

There are nearly 14 hostels including 2 PG's. The mess bill will cost around INR 5,000/- per month . tThe meals served here are better when compared to any other hostels in any other college. Per day the meals price is Rs.79/- . Poor WiFi connections. Classrooms are not very convienent for 2nd, 3rd and 4th years. Infrastructure is also quite poor

Placements & Internships:

I'm a first year student. I have to take up internship in the next acadamic year. Average salary per year is INR 5-6 lakhs from core companies. From IT companies it may go up to 10 lakhs

Academics & Faculty:

Academics is good. Classes starts at 8:00 AM. And laboratory classes start from 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM. There will be 2 mid  semister exams and one end semister exam is convenient for almost every student. Quality of teaching is better due to experienced faculty. Maintainence of 80% attendance is mandatory for every student, And the equipments in the laboratory are old and are not working accurately. Teachers are very particularwhen it comes to maintaining discipline. That's the thing I love the most in this college.

Mohan krishna B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2017
09 Apr 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 10 hostels for UG students boys.
  • Girls have a seperate and much better hostel than boys.
  • INR 75 per day is the meal cost. Food is selective as all the variety of regional foods are available.
  • Infrastructure is good and can be improved.
Societies & Associations:
  • The tech fest  is known as tathva.
  • The cultural fest  is known as ragam.
  • Our stuents are good in organising many clubs and their excellence.
  • I was unlucky to have no participation in any associations and clubs.
Placements & Internships:
  • I completed my intern at NTTPS in Andhra Pradesh during summer.
  • General motors, tata motors, L&T, goldmansachs, MRF, pepsi and alnico come for placements.
  • The average salary is INR 4 to 6 lakhs per annum.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • I got a scholarship for my excellence in intermediate, but not from the college.
  • Course fee is comparitively less which is still a burden for me as I dont get scholarship on time.
  • No loans are availed.
  • S/C scholarships are available for students. No separate scholarships for backward and genaral categories.
Academics & Faculty:
  • The college timings are odd.
  • Excluding adhoc ,quality of teaching is very good but method has to be changed for time being.
  • Over all experience is good and it can be much better.
Akhila B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2013
29 Nov 2015 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • Indian cultural association, national service association, literary and debating club, computer society of India, Sports team, nature club, ISTE.
  • Ragam the cultural fest and tathva the tech-Fest.
  • College life is awesome. 
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 13 Hostels with fee around Rs 750 per month.
  • Food is comparatively good and cheap. 
  • Classrooms and Library can boast about good infrastructure.
Placements & Internships:
  • No internships and stipend provided.
  • Companies like TATA, Mahindra,seimens, Reliance, Amazon, Paypal, Zinga, MRF visit campus for placements.
  • Average salary is Rs 6 LPA and highest is Rs 18 LPA.

 

Fees and Scholarship:
  • Fee is Rs 80000 per year.
  • There are various scholarships available.
  • When the actual strength is 100 nearly 200 would get scholarship.
  • Loans would be handy.

 

Academics & Faculty:
  • Method of teaching is outstanding. I have learnt  a lot from college.
  • Quality of teaching is good because they are so rich in knowledge.
Eldho K B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2018
15 Nov 2015 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • Student societies and clubs like IEEE, Literature, and debate, Dance, Dramatics are there at National Institute of Technology
  • A lot of festivals like tathva (technical fest), Ragam(cultural fest) are celebrated on campus every year
 1 2 Next