Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi Academics & Faculty

Varun B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
14 Oct 2016 Rating :
ACADEMICS & FACULTY:
  • BTech classes are conducted 5 days a week from 9am to 1:10pm and from 2:10pm to 5:30pm.
  • Although, class timings may get changed and mostly reduces as per requirement and number of lectures needed.
  • First half of day is theory classes and labs and experiments during the second half.
  • Some of the faculties are from IITs and deliver a high quality of education by audio and visual techniques.
  • Also, some faculties are not going to teach you even a single word and you have to study yourself in those subjects.
  • Minor and Major projects are integrated part of course.
  • You can get many other projects and competitions as per interests like HPVC, motor vehicle and robotic challenges etc.
  • There will be 3 exams per semester.
  • Two of them are sessionals and contribute 40% to your semester mark sheet.
  • One major or semester exam contribute 60% to final marks.
ba llb, batch of 2019
20 Jul 2016 Rating :
ACADEMICS & FACULTY:
  • The daily routine is quite hectic and productive too.
  • The quality of teaching is pretty awesome.
  • Overall experience is appreciable.
Eshana B.A. (Economics), batch of 2018
17 Jul 2016 Rating :
ACADEMICS & FACULTY:
  • The faculty of social science at Jamia Millia Islamia is very good according to my experience and knowledge that I have gained in this one year. The staff is very helpful and the teachers in economics department are always there to help solve our doubts and problems. The guest faculty we had of trainee teachers wasn\'t as I would have wanted but even they were very helpful. Our core classes were in the morning aklng with the subsidiary leaving the evening with just one CBCS class. Also, I was given the opportunity to learn a new foreign language, Spanish, in place of English and I am continuing with a diploma in the same. The only thing I don\'t appreciate is that every student of social science is required to study the language urdu and how to read and write it in the first year. Even though a qualifying subject it adds to the pressure of learning a totally different writing and reading style.

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi International Exposure

Chandan B.A., batch of 2015
11 Apr 2015 Rating :
FOREIGN EXCHANGE & INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE: There is a Exchange Partnership which it was with Saudi Arabia. There was a huge contract. there are foreign students who study in Jamia Hamdard. They are from Iran,Nigeria,Afghanistan,Saudi Arabia and many more. The university has excellent priority in Arab countries. The fees for Foreign student is expensive,its around $5500. there a number of language courses, they are Iran, Persian, Arabic, Urdu and many more.    
Arjun B.Tech, batch of 2016
08 Apr 2015 Rating :
FOREIGN EXCHANGE & INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE: There is a Exchange Partnership which it was with Saudi Arabia. There was a huge contract. there are foreign students who study in Jamia Hamdard. They are from Iran,Nigeria,Afghanistan,Saudi Arabia and many more. The university has excellent priority in Arab countries. The fees for Foreign student is expensive,its around $5500. there a number of language courses, they are Iran, Persian, Arabic, Urdu and many more.    
Md ETE, batch of 2017
03 Apr 2015 Rating :
FOREIGN EXCHANGE & INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE:   There is a Exchange Partnership which it was with Saudi Arabia. There was a huge contract. there are foreign students who study in Jamia Hamdard. They are from Iran,Nigeria,Afghanistan,Saudi Arabia and many more. The university has excellent priority in Arab countries. The fees for Foreign student is expensive,its around $5500. there a number of language courses, they are Iran, Persian, Arabic, Urdu and many more.  

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi Fees and Scholarship

Varun B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
14 Oct 2016 Rating :
FEES AND SCHOLARSHIP:
  • Jamia Millia is a central govt university.
  • Fee for BTech is only Rs 10,000-11,000 per year in the first year and after this only Rs 7000 per year for the next 3 years.
  • Jamia provides scholarship options  to many students and most of the scholarships available are for minorities and girls.
  • If you are in Jamia and in Btech there is no need for any kind of loan.
  • Scholarships and hostel facilities are provided on the basis of academic performance in past and a personal interview basis.
Nida Msc.Biotechnology, batch of 2017
26 Mar 2016 Rating :
FEES AND SCHOLARSHIP:
  • The course fee very less as compared to other colleges. Course fee per academic session is approximately INR 7,700
  • The university announces different scholarship programmes from time to time. 
  • The average number of students for getting scholarship varies for different programmes
  • Loans normally are not needed
Mohammed B.Arch, batch of 2020
14 Jan 2016 Rating :
FEES AND SCHOLARSHIP:
  • There are 2 batches in Architecture in JMI. One is government-aided while the other is a self-financed scheme (sfs). The fee for the first batch is INR 11500/year while for the latter one is INR 62500/year.
  • There are some plenty good scholarships. I know about only one which gives the students scoring above 75% in the high school exams a cash amount of INR 25000.
  • I don\'t know the average number of students that get scholarship.
  • Sometimes, for students with poor financial support, loans are needed. Educational Loans are (on a scale of 1-5) a level 3 easy to avail. Normal loans are even tougher to avail. Loans can be availed from a number of banks. JMI is in collaboration with a government-run bank, so that transaction becomes easier for students.

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi Placements & Internships

Asghar M.Sc (Others), batch of 2014
22 Nov 2016 Rating :
PLACEMENTS & ALUMNI NETWORK:
  • A six-month dissertation required for the course at Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi.
  • But there will be no any stipend given during dissertation and the whole course work.
  • Pharmaceutical companies and other life sciences companies are coming in for campus selection.
  • The average salary is around Rs.3.5 lacks per annum.
  • There is very good Alumni network in India and also abroad like Almaconecct, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc. 
Varun B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
14 Oct 2016 Rating :
PLACEMENTS & ALUMNI NETWORK:
  • Any of student who has a good academic performance for first two years can contact and get internship offers from reputed organisations and company like Maruti, oHnda, DMRC, BSES etc.
  • You just need to contact Training and Placement Officer for any kind of offer.
  • Many key companies like L&T, Siemens, TCS have already visited campus for recruitment and some others are scheduled to come.
  • Placement is not as good as that of BTech Computers.
  • About 60% students get campus placement and not all of them get an opportunity to work with the core companies.
  • The average salary figure package might be around Rs 5 lakh per annum considering only those students who have got campus recruitment from Jamia.
Manas MBA/PGDM, batch of 2018
02 Sep 2016 Rating :
PLACEMENTS & ALUMNI NETWORK:
  • I have done internship at internshala where, I am student brand manager at internshala.
  • The key companies which come to our campus are as follow: Coca cola, Dlf, HCLL, Wipro, Havells, Max, Pepsico, Air India, NTPC, NHPC,Indian oil, HT, NDTV, E&Y, KPMG etc. They provide different roles like Management Trainee, Business Analyst, Business Associate, HR executive etc. 
  • We are working hard to make chain of alumni network. We have a list of alumni who are working at different MNCs holding respective posts like Senior Managers, Vice president etc. 

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi College Infrastructure

Varun B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
14 Oct 2016 Rating :
INFRASTRUCTURE & TRANSPORTATION:
  • You can enjoy AC reading rooms, Libraries (more than one), labs and auditoriums.
  • Labs are almost near to good.
  • I can rate 4.4 out of 5 to lab conditions.
  • Both boys and girls hostels are available but are provided on the basis of many factors like your school marks, JEE score, need for the hostel and overall on what you say in an interview.
  • The hostel fee is Rs 4700 per annum plus Rs 2000r mess fee per month.
  • Many private hostels and PG are available in nearby areas @4000-6000rs per room.
  • Food quality is good at a low rate.
  • It may cost about Rs 50 for a more than enough diet of a person in lunch.
  • Both veg and non-veg are available in canteen.
  • Overall infrastructure can\'t match with that of a private college but still it is very good.
Manas MBA/PGDM, batch of 2018
02 Sep 2016 Rating :
INFRASTRUCTURE & TRANSPORTATION:
  • We have few number of hostels for girls and boys. Everybody doesn\'t get hostel. They examine several factors like academics, distance, income etc before giving hostel.
  • We can get PGs easily outside of the college at around Rs 6000-10000 per month. We get cheaper food at central canteen .We get veg thali at Rs 25 while non-veg thali at Rs35. We have well furnished AC classrooms.We have Wifi connectivity . We have well maintained seminar hall. We have wonderful auditorium . We have well technology equiped modern library . We have wonderful parking space.
  • We get cheaper food at central canteen. We get veg thali at Rs 25 while non-veg thali at Rs35. 
  • We have well furnished AC classrooms. We have Wifi connectivity, well-maintained seminar hall, wonderful auditorium, technology equipped modern library, parking space.
ba llb, batch of 2019
20 Jul 2016 Rating :
INFRASTRUCTURE & TRANSPORTATION:

 

  • Hostel availability is quite good.
  • Though pgs are there but we don\'t need them.
  • Food is simply awesome.
  • wi-fi enabled campus.

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi Hostels & Food

Sana B.Sc (Chemistry), batch of 2015
11 Apr 2015 Rating :
HOSTELS & FOOD: The food is very good.The Mess facilities are great.The hostel infrastructure is really awesome.The hostels are very beautiful and the infrastructure is great    
Heena B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2016
08 Apr 2015 Rating :
HOSTELS & FOOD: Hostels facilities are provided by college but very limited in number,PG and other options are availabe for students at affordable cost near to campus.There are multiple canteens and food joints in the campus and students find the Youth Café and Maggie Point the best. The common canteen is cheap in terms of food quality and cost but shouldn’t be preferred apart from tea and coffee. The main canteen serves good Chole Bhature and Biryani though the taste is inconsistent sometimes. Space in the canteen is never a problem as most of them prefer lawns and gardens to relax and enjoy their food.
Md B tech, batch of 2012
18 Jan 2015 Rating :
HOSTELS & FOOD:
  • The food is very good at Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi.
  • The Mess facilities are great.
  • The hostel infrastructure is really awesome. The hostels are very beautiful and the infrastructure is great.

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi Societies & Associations

Sälmän B.Sc (Physics), batch of 2016
19 Oct 2016 Rating :
CLUBS & ASSOCIATIONS:
  • No student societies or unions are there from the last 10 years at Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi.
  • There is no representation of students available in case of harassment from teachers.
  • The main festival includes MIRAAS a 3-day cultural national fest and Foundation day a 4-day fest held annually.
  • Besides, small programs are held once a week.
  • The life in the college is good.
Varun B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
14 Oct 2016 Rating :
CLUBS & ASSOCIATIONS:
  • College festivals, Jamia foundation day, tech fests, parties, shows are all part of campus life in Jamia.
  • Jamia\'s sports complex provide facilities for sports like volleyball, football, basketball, tennis, badminton, cricket, table tennis, gym and much more.
  • Many student societies like IEEE, ASME and much more are there.
  • The life in college is fun.
  • No dress code. No entry-exit barriers in college and hostel.
Heena B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2016
08 Apr 2015 Rating :
CLUBS & ASSOCIATIONS: clubs and association are running on campus under the guidance of college admin,these clubs organised lots of events for students annually.Eid, the religious festival of Islam, is celebrated on a grand scale in the university. Iftaar and Freshers Party are also conducted during the second semester season. Youth Festival is celebrated on the Founder’s Day.

Read Student Reviews of Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi Social Atmosphere

Himanshu B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2016
26 Jun 2015 Rating :
SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE: First questions that pops up is definately about ethnicity bias or non-muslim tolerence. I would say it may have existed at some point of time but today i dont see it. None. 
Heena B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2016
08 Apr 2015 Rating :
SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE: Social atmosphere of college are excellent, no such discrimination based on gender,religion and etc.Alcohol is strictly prohibited on campus,Well, since the college is located in South Delhi which is considered to be one of the posh areas of the city, you’ve innumerable hangouts. Community Centre (CC) in New Friends Colony, adorably referred as NFC, is the standard and the most visited place by any student. There are hundreds of food joints from CCD to Barista, Dominos to Pizza Hut, Subway, roadside stalls, chole kulche, and every possible thing you want. In short, when you’re at Jamia, enjoyment ain’t a problem, definitely we mean outside the campus.
Prabha BBA, batch of 2015
11 Feb 2015 Rating :
SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE: As the name suggests, the university has 50% of the seats reserved for Muslim Minority, though there’re more than 70% in every batch. Apart from the religious minority, the crowd is primarily from Delhi, Gurgaon and Noida. Rarely, you see any international student from Iran in the engineering department. Previously, the crowd used to be a bit more rowdy but the recent batches have decent kids from good background and well mannered. It’s friendlier now, thus ragging is rarely seen in the campus or outside. Seniors are helpful as they donate their books to juniors thus developing a healthy junior-senior bond.