Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi

Read Student Reviews of Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi

Abhishek B.Tech, batch of 2017
08 May 2017 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • In the Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi, it creates a recreation and entertaining environment.
  • Cultural and technical festivals are also organized every year and the college life is awesome.

 

College Infrastructure:
  • In the Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi, the hostel fees is very low considering the food and the good facilities provided, and waivers are available for students coming from backward society.
  • The food provided is excellent and classrooms and labs are well equipped.

 

Academics & Faculty:
  • In the Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi, the timing varies depending on course and lab slots.
  • The quality of teaching is excellent.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • In the Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi, the fees structure is between 1-4lakh depending on scholarships.
  • A large number of scholarships are available, one fifth generally gets it and also loans are easily available.

 

 

Placements & Internships:
  • In the Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi, the salary and stipend  given is very competitive in the market and probably the best.
  • All leading company in engineering, finance, technology and consultancy sector visits the campus.  
  • Alumini are closely linked to the college.

 

 

Admissions:
  • In the Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi, the admission is through JEE Advance and the eligibility criteria is pass or appearing in 12th grade.
  • 100% is usually the cut off percentage.

 

Ashok B.Tech (Textile), batch of 2018
30 Jan 2017
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria for joining Indian Institute of Technology is clearing the JEE MAIN exam.
  • The cut-off for the course is 200 out of 360.
Anoop M.Sc (Chemistry), batch of 2016
25 Oct 2016 Rating :
Academics & Faculty:
  • The class timings are from 9am to 12pm.
  • There are classes then lab work from 1pm to 5pm.
  • The quality of teaching is much better.
  • The overall experience is good and helpful in every expects at IIT Delhi.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The course fee is 1 lakh per annum in IIT Delhi.
  • Hostels are free including mess charges.
  • The loans are membership based only. As far as I know 15 out off 56 Loan facilities are available by SBI bank.
Placements & Internships:
  • There are no internships and stipends available in IIT Delhi.
  • The key companies are the manufacturing type companies.
  • The average salary figure is about 12-15 lakhs per annum.
  • I don't know about alumni network.
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria are based on IIT JAM score.
  • The entrance exam is IIT JAM by which I took admission and got into IIT Delhi.
  • The typical cut-off is 30 but I got 65.33.
Abhishek B.Tech (Computer), batch of 2017
21 Oct 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:
  • There is a total of 13 hostels (11 for boys and 2 for girls) in Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi. Hostels are also good though old and fee per semester is around Rs 30,000.
  • I am not aware of the cost of PGs outside college but there are many of them in the nearby areas.
  • College food is average and costs are included in the hostel fee itself. Each hostel has its own mess.
  • Classrooms are very good (a new Lecture Hall Complex have been recently established). Among, Old classrooms, some of them are air-conditioned also while the new lecture halls are just awesome. Wifi is available 24 hours in the institute areas as well as in the hostels. Library has a great collection of books and reading environment is very good there. Labs are well equipped. Everything is just awesome and the best here
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fee in Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi : Rs. 200000 pa
  • Scholarships: Freeships and Merit cum means scholarships are always there to help meritorious and financially weak students. There are several other scholarships that can be availed.
  • Almost 25% or more of the students get the scholarships in Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi.
  • Loans are needed when you don't get the scholarships and are very easily available from the bank within the campus itself.
Placements & Internships:
  • Internships in Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi : Placement cell is highly active here and internships are almost guaranteed and stipends are also awesome especially for CSE students.
  • Companies hiring from campus : Includes all major tech giants like Google, Microsoft, Amazon, Adobe, etc as well as top financial and trading firms like Goldman Sachs, Worldquant, Tower Research including consultancy companies like BCG, Parthenon, etc. So, a whole bunch of great companies come here.
  • Salary : Average salary can be around Rs. 600000-800000 p.a. while it can go as high as 1 crore or more (for US based roles mostly) and placement percentage is more than 90%.
  • Alumni network : It's awesome and encouraging. Alumni cell is there which takes care of various activities to be organized for existing students.
Kapil B.Tech (Chemical), batch of 2018
18 Oct 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • There are many students associations. BSW (Board for Student Welfare), BRCA (Board for Recreational and Cultural Activities), BSA (Board for Sports Activities), BHM (Board for Hostel Management). Then we have clubs like dance clubs, drama club, quizzing club, debating club etc. All these are fully maintained by students only.
  • IIT-D organizes various fests like Rendezvous which is one of the most famous youth cultural fest of India. Tech and sports fest are held together. IIT-D invites a lot of guest speakers on the occasion. A lot of students from all over the country comes to take part in the fests. 
  • Life in IIT-D is very chill.  People enjoy what they do. You can do whatever you want, nobody bothers you. There are movie and TV series clubs where people assemble and discuss upcoming theories about their favorite TV shows. In hostels, students play Counter Strike and DOTA in groups. Exam time they become quite serious. Library becomes crowded with students and after the exams are over, you will find many of the students in SDA Market,Hauz Khas Village and Connaught Place chilling out.
  •  
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 13 hostels in IIT-D. Out of these, 11 hostels are for boys and 2 for girls. The new hostels are well maintained with very good quality of rooms. Each hostel has its own mess, washing machines on each floor, sports courts, reading room, TV room and common room. Hostel fees are Rs 16500 per semester.
  • IIT-D doesn't allow undergraduate students to live outside of the campus on their own.
  • Food is good enough, not exceptional, though. We get 3 times meals each day. Food is included in the mess fees. There are many night messes on the campus in case you need to eat beyond the mess timings but you have to pay for them.
  • We have a ner=wly built lecture hall complex which is of brilliant quality. Labs are quite old but are very functional. We have some of the best equipment and machines in the country in our labs. Library runs 24*7 and is one of the biggest libraries in the country. You can access ebooks also. Wi-Fi is available in the institute area whereas hostels are equipped with LAN cables. We have 10 GB restriction on data usage per week which is quite sufficient. The downloading speed in exceptional.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Classes start early at 8am to 12pm, with lectures of 50min or 1hr 20 min long. Afternoons are meant for labs and tutorials. Project and assignments are very strong part of the curriculum. Projects are generally required to be submitted at the end of the semester, whereas assignments are generally weekly submitted. There are two minors and one major exam in a semester.  the weight of minors is lesser than the major.
  • The quality of the teaching is quite relative. Some students say that it is very good while some will differ. However, I feel apart from one or two professors, almost all professors are very efficient in their work. Teaching is done by both modern and orthodox methods. Some courses are taught using slides on projectors and those slides are regularly uploaded on moodle. These are those courses which are taught to a larger number of students. Some courses are taught on board. There are no slides uploaded for such courses, hence making notes becomes necessary.
  • My overall experience in the college is very good. I have a very good friend circle with some of the best minds in the country. It makes you work hard. Extracurricular activities are very well promoted.  I have been the part of the institute cricket team. IIT-D also provides an opportunity to study one semester outside of India. I have been to France for one semester and it was a life-changing experience. Four years in IIT makes you more confident, intelligent, hard working and street smart.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The course fee is changing every year. My course fee is Rs.52800 per annum.
  • Many scholarships are available to students. MCM scholarship is for meritorious students who are from the low economic background.
  • 25% of students get this scholarship.
  • Loans are needed especially after the increment in the fees. Loans are very easily available. Many banks like SBI gives loans without any guarantee. 
Placements & Internships:
  • I didn't do any internship but I did summer project under a faculty. You get an about 4000 INR for the duration from the department. If you are able to get Summer Undergraduate Research Award (SURA), you may get Rs 12500 with additional Rs 25000 for your project funding.
  • Almost all types of companies come for recruitment. Core companies like Google, Microsoft, Schlumberger, GSK, Samsung. Consulting companies like BCG, Bains, Fin-Mechanics, Nomura. Finance companies like Goldman Sachs, American Express, Deutsche Bank etc.
  • The average salary of Chemical Engineering in IIT-Delhi is about 10-11 lacs per annum with the highest salary fluctuates. Highest salary can be 22 lacs to 34 lacs. On average, placement ratio for chemical engineering is about 85%.
  • Alumni network of IIT-Delhi is very strong. We have a special cell called Alumni Affairs and International Programmes, which frequently organizes many talk and discussion events with our Alumni.
Admissions:
  • To get admission in the undergraduate programs of IIT Delhi (in fact any IIT), the candidate must qualify JEE-Advanced entrance test and also have the minimum cutoff in the senior secondary examination which is set by CBSE. He/She must obtain a good rank in the merit list and then according to his/her category, he/she get the admission in a particular IIT and a particular stream. The typical cutoff of my branch for the general category is about 800-1600 All India Rank (AIR)
Abhinav Integrated B-Tech and M-Tech, batch of 2017
18 Sep 2016
Admissions:
  • The eligibility criteria is 10+2 with PCM
  • You can get admission through IIT Jee entrance exam.
  • Cut-off rank below 1000
B.Tech (Computer), batch of 2017
18 Jul 2016 Rating :
Placements & Internships:
  •  I have had two industrial internship and one social internship. For both internships and placement companies come on campus.
  • Key industries include it firms, consulting, manufacturing, finance, analytics etc. with a package offered is Rs 8-12 Lakhs per annum.
  • The alumni network is immense. mostly all the graduates, post graduates stay in touch with the institute. we do have dean for alumni affair, a student body coordinating it and a alumni association which funds the events and carry out several programmes.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The fees is around Rs 56 thousand per annum.
  • Many scholarship options are available.
  • Approximately 25% of the students get scholarship on the basis of their parents' income.
  • A number of bank loans are available at low rates of interest.
Academics & Faculty:

classes are held regularly and also the quizes, viva, assignments are taken in the frequent manner. The choice and the relevance of the available courses is poor.like I want to persue my career in computer science but the cgpa factor always comes in my path.

Quality of teaching is very good and most of the professors are very cooperative professors are available even outside the classroom but we have to take appointment to meet them.

Shivam B.E (Mechanical), batch of 2018
15 Jul 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • There are various clubs in the college. Both cultural and sci tech clubs. ( e- cell , Electronic, Mechanical, Coding etc) ( Dance, Photography, Singing)
  • College life is great in IIT delhi, The nearby areas Hauz Khas is an amazing place to roam after the boring lectures ( not all of them are boring), also night life in hostels is great. With DC++ almost all kind of movies, Tv series are available. 
College Infrastructure:
  • Hostels are given to each and every student of IIT Delhi.
  • There is no need of PGs.
  • Food Quality is average. 
  • One of the disadvantages of studying in IIT delhi is the limited wifi you get. 10 Gb per week is what is available to every student. 
Placements & Internships:
  • I did my internship under a prof in IIT Delhi( No stipend was given to me). But if are doing internship in any company stipend depends on the work you do. It generally ranges from Rs 10000 to 60000 per month. 
  • Everyone who came for placement got placed last year , I believe. Average salary depends on the branch you are in. For Cs it ws more than Rs 18 LPA. For electrical it was more than Rs 12 LPA.
  • Alumini network is very strong in IIT Delhi, being one of the old IITs it has a well established network. Alumini meets are also organized.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fee was doubled this year. Tutuion fee was raised to Rs 2 LPA. Total fee will be around Rs 3 LPA. 
  • There are a number of scholarships available, MCM being one of them. Although most of them are for resereved category students. 
  • For those needing loans, there are easily available at any bank of india. Education Loan has been made very easy to get by BOI.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Classes are held regularly in the morning, mostly the evening slot is free. It is in the evening time in which one do all kind off activities he or she wants. Generally club, fest meetings are held after dinner. Prof. are generally very friendly, you can contact them in their office hours( upto 5:00). They all are experienced and have solutions to each and every problem that you have. They will also help in getting you internships, placements etc. 
  • Overall experience of studying in IIT D is great, you are surrounded by people with very high IQ level, who also have other talents. Life is not restricted to studying in IIT D it is much more than that.
Ankesh B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2019
20 Apr 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:
  • Hostel fee is Rs 5000 per month including mess.

 

Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fee is Rs 100000 year.
  • Scholarships are available.
  • Generally, 10-15 students get Scholarships.
  • Yes, Loans may be required, SBI bank provide loans.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Class timings are from 10 am to 4 pm.
  • Method and quality of teaching is based on projector and powerpoint presentation. Quality is fairly good, teachers are very helpful.
  • Overall experience is nice.
Rishabh B.Tech (Mechanical), batch of 2017
10 Apr 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 14 hostels in total 12 boys and 2 girls.
  • Not much availability outside. And very costly.
  • Too bad quality of food. And the cost is very high.
  • Classrooms, libraries are good.
Placements & Internships:
  • I will do internship this summer. But no stipend and accomodation. Have to do on my own.
  • HUL,ITC,WIPRO,DAIKIN etc
  • 50 percent gets placed and average salary around INR 6 lakhs.
  • Alumni network not too good.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The course fee per year is INR 90000.
  • The scholarship is given on the basis of income of family (should be below INR 5 lakhs) and above minimum cgpa (7.0).
  • 20 percent students get scholarship.
  • Yes loans are needed sometimes and can be availed from SBI easily.
Academics & Faculty:
  • The daily routine is very hectic. There are a lot of assignments and exams during the whole semester.
  • The quality of teaching is upto the mark.
  • The experience is good here.
Diksha B.Tech (Electrical/Electronics), batch of 2011
25 Mar 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • There are many societies like robotics,sports,tennis,badminton,mess hostel commitees.
  • Life is overall good but very busy because of assignments.
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 2 hostels for girls and hostel fee per month is Rs 4000
  • Food is ok. It costs Rs 160 per meal. Food is very costly and not upto the mark.
  • Classrooms and labs are well maintained. wifi connectivity is good in campus but not in hostels.
Placements & Internships:
  • I had done a government based internship at BARC Mumbai. They don't provide stipend.
  • IT and CSE companies comes for the placement.
  • Average package is Rs 3.25 LPA.
  • Alumini work is good.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • My course fee is Rs 70,000 per annum.
  • Only merit based scholarship is available.
  • 2-3 per department get scholarship.
  • No, loans are not needed but if needed banks provide them easily sbi bank is very helpful.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Assignements are really tough and projects are very high ended.
  • Quality of teaching is definitely great.
  • Overall I get to learn so much in this college.
Sankalp B. Tech, batch of 2018
24 Mar 2016 Rating :
Fees and Scholarship:
  • The course fee is Rs 1,00,000 per year.
  • Many scholarships are available but only for those whose father inccome less than Rs 4,00,000 per year.
  • 10 from our chemical department get scholarships.
  • No loans are required.
Academics & Faculty:
  • Class starts at 8:00 AM till 3:00 PM.  Basically exam held at end of every month.
  • The Quality and method of teaching are good.
  • Experience is good.
Pallavi B.Tech (Biotechnology), batch of 2019
22 Mar 2016 Rating :
College Infrastructure:
  • There are 11 boys hostels and 2 girls hostels.
  • Outside the campus, PGs are available.
  • The cost of food depends on hostels but it is about Rs 20k per semester. The food is average.
  • Wifi is very good and the quality is infrastructure is very nice.
Placements & Internships:
  • As I am from first year, I don't have much knowledge about it. As far as I know, the average salary is about INR 30 Lakhs per annum.
Fees and Scholarship:
  • Course fee is almost INR 2 lakhs per year including hostel.
  • Many scholarships are available to students ( UG section has all information about it ).
  • SBI easily give loans to the students.
Academics & Faculty:
  • In semester in IIT Delhi, we have 2 minor exams and a major exam. With that we have lab quizzes every week. Then we have assignments, lab majors and lab reports with deadlines. Cherry on top, we even have surprise quizzes. We have almost 5 hours of classes each day.
  • The teaching methods and professors are good. In comparison to other IITs we have extra pressure of academics but we even get to learn a lot of new things.
B.Tech, batch of 2019
11 Feb 2016 Rating :
Societies & Associations:
  • NSS NCC NSO Robotics club and many other.
  • Cultural-Rendevous, Speranza, Tech- Tryst
  • Life is somewhat clumsy at Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi.

 

College Infrastructure:
  • There are 12 hostels and the fees is Rs 44000 per year at Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi.
  • The food here is mostly of North Indian.
  • Quality of classrooms and their infrastructure is top-class.
Placements & Internships:
  • Google,Facebook and all topmost international IT companies comes for the placements at Indian Institute of Technology, [IIT] Delhi.
  • The average salary is around Rs. 15 lakhs per annum. Highest salary is Rs 1.5 crore per annum, 90% will get placed
  • They have huge connections and donate crores of rupees to the Institute.
 1 2 3 4 5 Next  Last