Anna University, Chennai

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai Academics & Faculty

Venkatesh Chemical Engg, batch of 2016
31 Jul 2016 Rating :
ACADEMICS & FACULTY:
  • Schedule is as per 8.30 AM to 4.30 PM. But it doesnt work that way.
  • The quality is good. We have experienced faculties in my college - who are - few, dedicated, make awesome atmosphere while teaching. 
    The college provides freedom to the students in working on projects, learning new things, industry visits, college tours, functions and culturals etc. we have the right liberty to make our decisions - which is very good in the students point! 
Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
ACADEMICS & FACULTY:
  • Our college(Anna University) daily routine has time convenient as for students.In our, campus we have alot free time and technology to develop our knowledge.
  • Choice of course already fixed syllabus  so that new caannot be changed .
  • Professor outside the classes are very friendly & supportive in our growth.
  • In acedemic 3 tests conducted before the final exam . The 3 tests marks are taken into account about 50 %, This drawbacks in academic.
Vaishnavi B.Tech Industrial Biotechnology, batch of 2011
26 Jan 2015 Rating :
ACADEMICS & FACULTY:
  • Subjects are very relevant to the course at Anna University.
  • We have three internal tests before every final semester exam.
  • 75% attendance is mandatory to be able to take the final semester exam.
  • Professors in Anna University are well-trained on the subject. I respect all my professors who have put in a lot of effort in teaching us. There are some people I would still go back and visit once in a while. 

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai International Exposure

Abhinav B.Tech (Industrial Biotechnology), batch of 2004
08 Sep 2015 Rating :
FOREIGN EXCHANGE & INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE: International exposure is dependent on individual initiative, but the faculty support it by connecting students with universities abroad. Every year, about 10% students travel internationally for some project or the other. The language of communication is English, and the faculty are all very well versed in the language.
Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
FOREIGN EXCHANGE & INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE:
  • In foreign exchange partnership in Anna University all the students cannot be offered, only if the student who has above 7.5 Above CGPA can apply.  So that many students cannot apply for the foreign exchange program.
  • Teaching language mostly 80% in English and 20% in Tamil.
  • If u have required qualification for foreign exchange scholarship provided for students by the college .
Vaishnavi B.Tech Industrial Biotechnology, batch of 2011
26 Jan 2015 Rating :
FOREIGN EXCHANGE & INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE:
  • International exposure is very limited at Anna University.
  • Although, during summer break, you can apply to scholarship programs like DAAD, etc on your own.

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai Fees and Scholarship

Venkatesh Chemical Engg, batch of 2016
31 Jul 2016 Rating :
FEES AND SCHOLARSHIP:
  • Fee is Rs 20000 per year.
  • Many scholarships are available - like first graduate, alumni, industrial etc.
  • 5 out of 120 get scholarship.
  • No loans not needed.
Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
FEES AND SCHOLARSHIP:
  • Anna University course fees are based on the Quota. It varies according to course choose by the students. Generally Per semester it costs about 25000INR.
  • A lot of scholarship is given in our college.
  • Bank loans and financial help well Disputed to students.
Vaishnavi B.Tech Industrial Biotechnology, batch of 2011
26 Jan 2015 Rating :
FEES AND SCHOLARSHIP:
  • University fees vary based on the quota through which you get admission into Anna University.
  • University fees per semester are about Rs. 9,000 for general quota students. NRI students pay more.

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai Placements & Internships

Venkatesh Chemical Engg, batch of 2016
31 Jul 2016 Rating :
PLACEMENTS & ALUMNI NETWORK:
  • I have the entire list of companies as i am the Placement Rep!
    Here it is!

BRIDGEi2i Analytics Solutions Private Limited

Bharat Petroleum

Carborundum Universal Limited

Chemfab Alkalis Limited                    

Coromandel Fertilisers Limited                     

Dow Chemical Company                   

Excelacom Technologies       

Exide Industries                      

FLSmidth & Co. A/S                

Foster Wheeler Ltd.   

Fractal Analytics                    

Hindustan Unilever Company            

Hyundai motors                     

IBM

iNautix Technologies             

IOCL               

ITC                              

JGC CORPORATION

 Kavin Engineering and Services Pvt Ltd

 LatentView Analytics Pvt. Ltd

Manali Petrochemical Limited

McDermott International, Inc.          

Michelin India Private Limited

Mu Sigma Inc.            

PerkinElmer Health Sciences Pvt Ltd.

Reliance Industries                

S.R.F. Ltd

Saint-Gobain

Saipem India Projects Limited           

Sanmar Group            

Tamilnadu Petroproducts Limited

Tata Chemicals Limited         

Technip India Limited

The Ramco Cements Limited

TVS Motor Company              

UOP LLC                     

VA Tech Wabag                     

Vantage Research Pvt Ltd

Vedanta Resources                

Visvas Abrasives

Voltas Ltd

 Zifo Technologies Private Limited

Abhinav B.Tech (Industrial Biotechnology), batch of 2004
08 Sep 2015 Rating :
PLACEMENTS & ALUMNI NETWORK: Students get internships at top companies in Chennai and nationally. Almost all students who want to go through campus placements get placed, as Anna University (main campus) is the most prestigious engineering institution in Tamil Nadu, after IIT, Madras. Average salary is probably around 7-8 Lakh. Alumni netowrk, though large, is rather inactive.
Vaishnavi B.Tech Industrial Biotechnology, batch of 2011
26 Jan 2015 Rating :
PLACEMENTS & ALUMNI NETWORK:
  • Under most circumstances, we will have to find internships through our own sources.
  • Companies like TCS, Cognizant, Wipro, Accenture, etc. hire students from Anna University. This would be good for departments such as Information technology, computer science, etc. and definitely not for Department of Biotechnology.
  • Professors may help us in finding internships. We can request them to interview us for a research position in their lab, perhaps.

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai College Infrastructure

Shankar msc (electronic media), batch of 2018
17 Sep 2016 Rating :
INFRASTRUCTURE & TRANSPORTATION:
  • Hostels are available but I don't know about the infrastructure of hostel. Charge is Rs 33000 per year
  • Classrooms are good. Libraries are very useful we get all types of book. Free wifi also available only those who are registered 
Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
INFRASTRUCTURE & TRANSPORTATION:
  • The quality of Classrooms at Anna University are very clean and good with projectors and all required things.
  • Wifi is a free source to all the students and our college is very big and has good infrastructure.
  • College bus service is not applicable only by Public Transport and Bus passes is given by our college by concession to all students.
Vaishnavi B.Tech Industrial Biotechnology, batch of 2011
26 Jan 2015 Rating :
INFRASTRUCTURE & TRANSPORTATION:
  • Anna University campus is huge.
  • Class rooms are average. However, we have projectors and screens in every class.
  • Electricity problems prevail in India, so can't blame the university for that I guess.
  • Most students use public buses to commute. We are allowed to buy a bus pass at subsidized prices.

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai Hostels & Food

Abhinav B.Tech (Industrial Biotechnology), batch of 2004
08 Sep 2015 Rating :
HOSTELS & FOOD: On-campus accomodation is easily available and is of a good standard. The food is primarily South Indian, and not of great quality. Off-campus accomodations are reasonable, too, in Adyar and Kotturpuram areas. Many restaurants are available within a 2km radius.
Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
HOSTELS & FOOD:
  • Anna University Campus living rooms and accommodations are good.
  • The food average level is somewhat good. Water and electricity are good are available 24/7.
Vaishnavi B.Tech Industrial Biotechnology, batch of 2011
26 Jan 2015 Rating :
HOSTELS & FOOD:
  • Student housing definitely needs improvement at Anna University.
  • The fee for student housing is less, but facilities definitely need to be improved.
  • An International Students hostel is available for students (mostly NRI) at a slightly higher cost and slightly better.

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai Societies & Associations

Meghala B.Tech (Chemical), batch of 2017
11 Mar 2016 Rating :
CLUBS & ASSOCIATIONS: - There are NSS NCC YRC to help society in the ways it can. - The main event is National level technical symposium "CHEMFLUENCE" and in cultural we have "KALAKRITI, SAMPRADHA"  - The overall experience is enjoyable.
Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
CLUBS & ASSOCIATIONS:
  • In Anna University a lot of clubs are available, Students Society of Cultural are especially available to all students.
  • Sports board in our college are good.
Indu M.sc (Electronic Media), batch of 2017
17 Apr 2015 Rating :
CLUBS & ASSOCIATIONS: Cultural clubs are a big platform for students, the students will be given full freedom to initiate their ideas in clubs. Sports is also another best part of my college. The cultural  and sports events which occur every year is a good platform for students to expose their talents other than studies.

Read Student Reviews of Anna University, Chennai Social Atmosphere

Naresh B.E (Material science & engg), batch of 2016
04 May 2015 Rating :
SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE:
  • There is no comparison of students in Anna University campus.
  • It 100% smoke and alcohol-free campus.
  • Canteen is available inside campus at the lowest price for all.
Indu M.sc (Electronic Media), batch of 2017
17 Apr 2015 Rating :
SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE: There is no such political, economic and religion problems in campus. The ragging is strictly prohibited, even a vechile named Anti-ragging vechile will surround the college all the time for the safety of students. Boys and girls are free to talk to each other, there is no such restriction. Alcohol use is strictly prohibited in and around campus, there is no bars/pubs around college campus.
Praveen B.Tech (Information Technology), batch of 2012
31 Jan 2015 Rating :
SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE: Absolutely zero discrimination in all aspects. Students are very friendly and can party each day in hostels. Alcohol use is prohibited but not rare. College is located in the heart of city with access to lot of entertainment centres.